Selective Perception

A few weeks ago I participated in a meeting with some of our senior executives.  A week later my team was standing in the hallway with an Asian client when one of the executives came by to introduce himself.  I happened to be standing right next to our Asian client.

Executive(to client): Hello, my name is Executive.  Welcome to our office.  We are happy to have you.

Client (in poor English): Yes. Yes. Yes. Hello.

Executive(to me): Hello, my name is Executive.  And you are?

AWKWARD SILENCE

Jonah (in what Jonah assumes to be unaccented English): Uh, my name is Jonah.

Jonah’s Manager: Jonah works with us.  He just started a few months ago.

Executive: Oh….. How do you like working in XXX department?

Jonah: I like it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

